Hacking Homebrew 3DS System Transfer Questions

S-Mania

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
Hi everyone. I'm looking to do a system transfer from an Old 3DS XL to an N3DSXL. No illegitimate games on the Old 3DS, just some eshop demos and the homebrew apps when you mod it. N3DS was wiped and just recently modded. I want to still use my old 3DS as a 2nd one, mods intact. N3DS will be my new main one with all my old 3DS' data, as it's presumably faster. Both are using micro SD cards btw.

Anyway, after I do a system transfer, do I just swap micro SD cards? Is it that easy, nothing's tied to the original system? Also they were modded on different firmwares (N3DS on 11.04.0-37E, Old on 11.17) using different methods and then updated. Does that matter? Will the files be the same regardless?

Also do I have to worry about nand before/after transfer or will it be fine? I'm quite new to doing that, so hope not haha 😅

Thanks, I don't want to mess anything up. If anyone has done this (a system transfer and kept using the old system) before, please let me know. I'm not cloning it btw, just transferring all my data from old to new.

ack

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I think it would be easier to make a NAND backup on the old one and restoring it on the new one. After that put the sdcard of the old console in the new one
no lmao, just do a normal system transfer.

Some people advise that you should just install all the apps on your source system on the destination system and then use checkpoint to get all the saves off and restore them on the destination system, but I don't like that solution.

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
I think it would be easier to make a NAND backup on the old one and restoring it on the new one. After that put the sdcard of the old console in the new one
Is this supposed to be funny in conjunction to your custom title?
Screenshot_20240503-191546_Mull.png