Homebrew Handy VS2019 build batch file I made that I've decided to spread here.

EtiTheSpirit

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey folks!

I'm fairly new to the homebrew community and I was looking at all of the various tools that are necessary for making various homebrew apps. I have the template provided by devkitPro, but after some messing with it in Visual Studio 2019 (which, I may add, the ability to build from studio is quite nice), I thought to myself, "This isn't enough." Now I don't know if anything I'm doing here is extra or "useless" (chances are, it is. That's one of the caveats of being new after all). It's certainly helped me personally and I suppose that's what matters the most.

Naturally, after not really liking having to enter 3 different commands to first build my 3DSX/ELF/SMDH, then strip the ELF file, and then make a CIA (horrible, right?) I got cracking away at something new. What I've just designed has definitely streamlined the process of building all necessary files (3DSX, SMDH, ELF, and CIA) given that it mashes it down into one batch file that is modular in nature. I love it a lot!

Here's the setup:
1: Start off by placing the meta folder inside of your project directory as you might when making a banner or whatever (if you haven't already), and make it contain the following files:
EXAMPLE_META.PNG

author.txt, description.txt, and title.txt all pertain to the APP_AUTHOR, APP_DESCRIPTION, and APP_TITLE fields in the makefile respectively. They are single-line TXT files containing the entries for those fields. I mainly did this so that all of the metadata was in the ... well, metadata folder!

2: Edit Makefile so that the APP_AUTHOR, APP_DESCRIPTION, and APP_TITLE fields use ?= instead of :=
This is important as ?= says "Use whatever value is in the file here if it's not specified in the environment" (so if you forget your txt files, it has a fallback option). Personally I set it to this:

Code: