Gaming Building a new desktop for a friend...

fgghjjkll

GBATemp MegaMan
OP
Trophies
XP
Hey
I'm building a desktop for a friend and he only wants to use it for playing skyrim and LoL at decent settings...
Something that may keep him going for a while.

So, I did some browsing, and I decided to come up with these specs:

Processor: Intel Core i5 2500 (220AUD)
Board: Intel H61 Express (Starts at 80AUD)
Memory: 2x 4GB DDR3 kit (40AUD)
Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 6950 (eg)(235AUD)
Hard drive: Still looking around. Friend wants SSD for ultra fast LoL loading. I have no experience in comparing SSDs. Can you recommend me some?
Drive: Some 20 dollar dvd drive.

I haven't thought about the case and power supply yet, but his max budget is 800, so maybe you can help me choose those too...

Thanks.

PolloDiablo

Madre de Dios! Es El POLLO DIABLO!!!
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
that's a nice setup
I can recommend to go with the i5 2500k so you can overclock it. Also, change the motherboard to a P67 wich is better for overclocking. Maybe you can go with an Asus since it's cheaper that Intel.

If your friend wants fast loading he can pick a WD Caviar Black... but I never tested it myself.

I've made a similar thread a couple of days ago

fgghjjkll

GBATemp MegaMan
OP
Trophies
XP
that's a nice setup
I can recommend to go with the i5 2500k so you can overclock it. Also, change the motherboard to a P67 wich is better for overclocking. Maybe you can go with an Asus since it's cheaper that Intel.

If your friend wants fast loading he can pick a WD Caviar Black... but I never tested it myself.

I've made a similar thread a couple of days ago
I don't want to overclock because I don't want to spend too much on the Power Supply...
So, I'm fine with the 2500 rather than the 2500k

Also, he wants almost instant loading, not some thing that loads a bit faster than an average 7200RPM HDD.

Originality

Chibi-neko
Trophies
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
Country