Hacking cMIOS with Classic Controller support

Tetsuo Shima

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
I was wondering if it would be possible to add CC support to a custom MIOS, to play GC games with the Classic Controller.
I'm no coder, but I'd like to know if this feature could be achieved or if it's totally impossible.
If it's impossible can someone please explain me why?
Thanks in advance...

LexLuthor

Trophies
XP
Country
I'm sure someone else can fill you in on the more specific details but I hear the answer is almost certainly no. All Wii functions (ie. Wiimote/Classic Controller) are locked out when running in Gamecube mode.

natemckn

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
Tetsuo Shima said:
I was wondering if it would be possible to add CC support to a custom MIOS, to play GC games with the Classic Controller.
I'm no coder, but I'd like to know if this feature could be achieved or if it's totally impossible.
If it's impossible can someone please explain me why?
Thanks in advance...

I hate to say its impossible, there are some very talented people around here, but right now it is not feasible. This is because of the way the wii handles gamecube games. When you boot a gamecube game, the wii locks down its hardware to imitate that of a gamecube. This is so games will play exactly the same as they were intended. Even though the wii has a faster processor and video card, when playing a GC game, they act like GC hardware. So when in GC mode, you have no access to the wiimotes, usb ports, sd card, etc. Without access to the wiimote you cannot use the classic controller

Helsionium

Alpha and Omega
Trophies
Website
www.helsionium.eu
XP
Country
Austria