Hacking Flash Cart Link/Multiplayer Compatibility

Tane

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I was able to play with two EZ Flash ODE's and see how nice the multiplayer/link works between the two. Tried Kirby Nightmare in Dreamland and it worked a treat.

So my followup question to this is... can you do multiplayer/link/trading between different Flash Carts? Say an Everdrive and an EZ Flash? Or is the emulation different enough between the two that it won't work?

Apologies for the newbie question - I'm new to flash carts! Trying to learn!

Thanks

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Flash carts as a rule don't emulate things, they function as an original cart would give or take what they do for saves (which does not matter for normal link stuff, for GBA-GC link or GBA-DS link things that is a different matter).

Now there have been flash carts in the past that with various combinations of patches (soft reset, sleep, save,...) have meant link play is harder because of timings issues (the link cable being mightily sensitive here) and might have wanted extra patches (I had some around here for the EZ4 using patches derived from the EZ2).

As a general principle though then should be fine, certainly would not be in any way surprised to hear any combination of flash carts and real games played link play all night long and only fell over when someone tugged on a cable and unplugged their GBA. The trouble will come with various combinations of patches and what you might need to do to mitigate them on a given flash cart.