Homebrew GBARunner2

Gericom

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
1,383
Trophies
2
Age
25
XP
4,717
Country
Netherlands
View attachment 422561

am aware as you can see by above, I just think its extremely unintuitive lol Are there any ways to make shortcuts for luma payloads in the 3ds home menu by chance? that would solve most of my complaints xD
Doesn't it take way more time to boot the home menu in the first place, than to boot into a luma payload? Maybe there's a way to set a key shortcut you can hold at boot or so?
 

Modular511

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
354
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Canada
XP
1,150
Country
United States
Doesn't it take way more time to boot the home menu in the first place, than to boot into a luma payload? Maybe there's a way to set a key shortcut you can hold at boot or so?
I am almost never turning my console off unless it dies, 2/3 of what I do lately involves hop scotch between the ds/3ds/virtual console pokemons as I am working on a living dex in them all. lol I just was wanting to be able to hit home and have it there, vs hit the reboot and hold start. I will say open agb works wonderfully! Did they reverse engineer the ambassador games or something? it puts the ds in the same no home screen mode lol
 

Jayro

MediCat USB Dev
Developer
Joined
Jul 23, 2012
Messages
13,049
Trophies
4
Location
WA State
Website
ko-fi.com
XP
17,239
Country
United States
This might be a dumb question, but how do I force GBARunner3 to play on the bottom screen. I'm using a Gameboy Macro, and I have Macro Mode set in the SRLOADER settings, but GBARunner 3 just ignores it. (I'm using a DS Lite to configure this for my GB Macro, if that matters.)
 

Gericom

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
1,383
Trophies
2
Age
25
XP
4,717
Country
Netherlands
This might be a dumb question, but how do I force GBARunner3 to play on the bottom screen. I'm using a Gameboy Macro, and I have Macro Mode set in the SRLOADER settings, but GBARunner 3 just ignores it. (I'm using a DS Lite to configure this for my GB Macro, if that matters.)
In your /_gba/gbarunner3.json put
JSON:
{
    "displaySettings": {
        "gbaScreen": "bottom"
    }
}
 

furbi963

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
463
Country
Mexico
In your /_gba/gbarunner3.json put
JSON:
{
    "displaySettings": {
        "gbaScreen": "bottom"
    }
}
Buenas... Existe algo así, pero para mapear los botones (L,R por X,Y). Y una duda que es HighCode. :)
Hello... There is something like this, but to map the buttons (L,R to X,Y). And one question is HighCode. :)
 

Gericom

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2011
Messages
1,383
Trophies
2
Age
25
XP
4,717
Country
Netherlands
Buenas... Existe algo así, pero para mapear los botones (L,R por X,Y). Y una duda que es HighCode. :)
Hello... There is something like this, but to map the buttons (L,R to X,Y). And one question is HighCode. :)
Button mapping has not been implemented yet for gbarunner3, but is planned. I'm not sure what you want to know about hicode, but there is a branch, and it is not merged yet. I don't speak Spanish btw, so English is sufficient.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tarmfot

furbi963

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
463
Country
Mexico
Button mapping has not been implemented yet for gbarunner3, but is planned. I'm not sure what you want to know about hicode, but there is a branch, and it is not merged yet. I don't speak Spanish btw, so English is sufficient.
I misspelled, I was asking what Hicode was. Oops hehehe:discuss:

I read it in the wiki and didn't understand that part.

P.S. Writing in Spanish is like my signature. Sadness
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
16,648
Trophies
3
Age
24
XP
21,120
Country
United States
I misspelled, I was asking what Hicode was. Oops hehehe:discuss:

I read it in the wiki and didn't understand that part.

P.S. Writing in Spanish is like my signature. Sadness
Hicode is where the code is not placed in the first 2MB of the ROM. So if the game tries to access hicode, it crashes.
The hicode branch aims to properly support hicode.
 

DSoryu

GBA/NDS Maniac
Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
2,373
Trophies
2
Location
In my house
XP
4,824
Country
Mexico
Any way to enable borders / frames with GBARunner 3 yet? Great work!

Yeah, you already can:
Custom borders need to be in `8bpp bmp` format, renamed as "border.bmp" inside the `_gba/` folder in the root of your SD card.

You can also add per-game borders, they just need to be renamed as the game internal ID + rev number, ie. BPEE00.bmp, and placed inside `_gba/borders`

You can change the borders behavior in the settings file, the "borderimage" key can be set to either "default", "game" or "none":


JSON:
{
    "runSettings": {
        "enableWramICache": true,
        "enableEwramDCache": true
    },
    "displaySettings": {
        "gbaScreen": "top",
        "gbaColorCorrection": "Agb001",
        "gbaScreenBrightness": 16,
        "enableCenterAndMask": true,
        "centerOffsetX": 8,
        "centerOffsetY": 16,
        "maskWidth": 240,
        "maskHeight": 160,
        "borderImage": "default"
    }
}
 
Last edited by DSoryu,

YoungK

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 24, 2024
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
42
Country
Canada
Yeah, you already can:
Custom borders need to be in `8bpp bmp` format, renamed as "border.bmp" inside the `_gba/` folder in the root of your SD card.

You can also add per-game borders, they just need to be renamed as the game internal ID + rev number, ie. BPEE00.bmp, and placed inside `_gba/borders`

You can change the borders behavior in the settings file, the "borderimage" key can be set to either "default", "game" or "none":


JSON:
{
    "runSettings": {
        "enableWramICache": true,
        "enableEwramDCache": true
    },
    "displaySettings": {
        "gbaScreen": "top",
        "gbaColorCorrection": "Agb001",
        "gbaScreenBrightness": 16,
        "enableCenterAndMask": true,
        "centerOffsetX": 8,
        "centerOffsetY": 16,
        "maskWidth": 240,
        "maskHeight": 160,
        "borderImage": "default"
    }
}
Is there any thing else I need to do? I have this image as border.bmp and updated my settings file but it is not working with GBArunner3 sadly




Thanks!
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    the legal drinking age here in the US is 21, as some of you may know, but i think either it should be 18 or the age you're an adult should be 21.
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    and i know what you may be thinking, "why become an adult at 21? doesn't that mean that banging an 18 year old would be illegal?"
    first of all, being in a relationship with someone who's 18 is technically ok, as long as it started when they were 18, but the age gap is still weird depending on how old you are. besides, the age of consent differs between different states
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    also my reasoning for adult age being 21 is because the reason that's the drinking (and now smoking) age is because it "gives them more time to think rationally and not drive drunk"
    so you should have that extra time to mature and think rationally before going to serve in the military or vote
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    tl;dr the "adult" age and the legal drinking age (and voting age) here in the US should be the same
    +4
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's all good no one pays attention to the law anyway lol
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What about making kids wait till 18 or 21 to drive? And yea is messed up, you can join army and die for your country at age 18, but you can't drink alcohol or smoke a cig til 21, is ridiculous
    +3
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    If someone is in the military they should be allowed to smoke and drink at 18.... Would help drive recruitment lol
    +3
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    We all know they do and will anyways. I think laws prevented them only pushes them to illegally do it. Even tho if was legal, most prob wouldn't even bother. Not a big deal or risque if its legal, no fun.
    +2
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    That's why some kids don't mind having a rap sheet or two just so they never get drafted
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    also, i think the voting age should match the adult and drinking ages too, because by the logic of giving them time to mature and think rationally so they don't drive drunk, then they should also have that time to mature and think rationally so they can think for themselves
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    fucking hell i'm becoming a mini leo with the way i yap aren't i?
    +1
  • impeeza @ impeeza:
    I was unable to create the VM for the debloat windows, but found the video where I learned it:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZm6mY3I7J4
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    No you def no leo, and I like your insight. You are a smart Baked cookie.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Chicken drumsticks and sweet potato for dinner tonight turned out good
    +1
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    "i promise not to get all political and/or philosophical"
    3 drinks later:
    "so yeah think for yourself and i think the government sucks"
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Is @BigOnYa drunk again
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    no, i was poking fun at myself
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Again? I have a IV feeding me so I never come down.
    +2
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    because self deprecating humor is important, as long as it doesn't turn into self hate. because you can't really make fun of anyone if you can't even make fun of yourself
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Booze enemas are real lol
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that explains a lot
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @BigOnYa, invented the first ever pill that gets you instantly hammered, now filling the streets of Miami
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That was what called a qaaulude, instant drunk, luckily they not around anymore.
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: That was what called a qaaulude, instant drunk, luckily they not around anymore.