What does it take to become a game reviewer?

pig_slaughterer69

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
One idea I have but will probably never get around to trying is to start my own YouTube channel as an independent game reviewer. It makes me wonder how to provide an informed review of games across different genres and series. How does someone who does not play FPS games review an FPS game? I could I had fun playing it but elaborating on that would likely lead to me saying something silly or outright false. Someone who did not play Diddy Kong Racing may not be aware that Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing Transformed was not the first Mario Kart clone to implement boats and planes.

Scarlet

Onion Soup
Editorial Team
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
Website
scarlet.works
XP
Country
United Kingdom
I'm by no means a professional but I've been writing here for like seven years now, so I at least have experience.

I personally think just being open about your experience is the best move. If you're wanting to review a game in a foreign genre to you, make it clear that you're new to the genre and that your opinions will reflect that. Other people with more experience will have their opinions, but the fresh outlook could also provide something they can't.

In terms of "what it takes", the realistic answer is very little. Written reviews are easier than video reviews in my mind, but obviously have a focus on things like grammar. Video reviews you need to pace your speech, have footage to reflect what you're talking about, edit it all together... It's more daunting to me (hence why I haven't got to trying it yet lol) but hey, everybody starts somewhere. If your first review sucks your second will be better, and your third better than that. Just gotta stick with it.

If you have any other random questions I can try my best to help, but as I said my thoughts by no means reflect those of a professional.

Taleweaver

Storywriter
Trophies
XP
Country
Belgium