Hacking App to convert between TPL (IA4) and PNG?

damysteryman

I am too busy IRL these days...
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,223
Trophies
1
XP
1,026
Country
Antarctica
Hi everyone,

Is there a Windows app that is capable of converting a certain TPL, specifically TPL type IA4 (type IA4 has an alpha channel), to and from PNG format?

I need it for a "secret project"...

I need to edit TPLs that are type IA4, and when the editing is done, it has to be converted back to IA4, as no other TPL type will be accepted by the "secret project".

Thanks in advance,
da_letter_a
 

sirakain

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
97
Trophies
0
XP
67
Country
France
Try customize Mii... I think it can.
QUOTE said:
Changelog:

Version 2.2

* Fixed some bugs with the preview window
* Fixed Complex Forwarder in combination with Waninkoko's NAND Loader
* Fixed saving of base WADs
* Fixed saving of WAD after sending it to the Wii
* Fixed CMP TPL code (thanks pbsds)
* Added conversion to IA8 (thanks pbsds), IA4, I8 and I4
* Fixed conversion from IA8 and I4
* Fixed some general TPL bugs (format detection, ...)
* Added additional paths to the Complex Forwarder (max. 16)
wink.gif
 

mattjd

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Messages
233
Trophies
0
Location
Malvern
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
I know that the Wii.au3 tools that pbsds is making support every type of TPL but there still in development
tongue.gif


Yes CUstomizemii 2.2 is your best bet or compiling the latest revision from the google code...
 

spayrosam

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2009
Messages
756
Trophies
0
Location
Gafsa
Website
Visit site
XP
309
Country
CODE@echo off

:start
if not exist tpl md tpl
if not exist images md images
if not exist tpls md tpls
for %%A in ( *.tpl ) do (set tpl=%%A)
move *.tpl tpls
cd tpls
move "%tpl%" ..\
cd..
tplx.exe *.tpl *.tga
ren *.tga %tpl%.tga
convert %tpl%.tga %tpl%.png
move *.png Images
del *.tga
move *.tpl tpl
cd tpls
if exist *.tpl move *.tpl ..\
cd..
if exist *.tpl goto start
rmdir /S /Q tpls

end
 

pepxl

GFX W!Z4RD
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,263
Trophies
1
XP
328
Country
spayrosam said:
CODE@echo off

:start
if not exist tpl md tpl
if not exist images md images
if not exist tpls md tpls
for %%A in ( *.tpl ) do (set tpl=%%A)
move *.tpl tpls
cd tpls
move "%tpl%" ..\
cd..
tplx.exe *.tpl *.tga
ren *.tga %tpl%.tga
convert %tpl%.tga %tpl%.png
move *.png Images
del *.tga
move *.tpl tpl
cd tpls
if exist *.tpl move *.tpl ..\
cd..
if exist *.tpl goto start
rmdir /S /Q tpls

end

excellent works a charm
extra kudos
 

pbsds

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
57
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Røros
Website
pbsds.net
XP
1,438
Country
Norway
mattjd said:
I know that the Wii.au3 tools that pbsds is making support every type of TPL but there still in development tongue.gif
Sorry, but it only supports from png to RGBA8, RGB565 and RGB5A3.
But it supports from all tpl formats to png!
BTW, the development has stopped, i have moved over to python.
 
D

Deleted member 180466

Guest
Do we know anything about the .T64-files in the WAD files, which usually are to be in the same place as the game/rom? 0...05.app have them .T64-files!

EDIT: I imagine that .T64-file is a patch for the game. Or texture change. Is it possible to change/look at these files?
 

pbsds

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
57
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Røros
Website
pbsds.net
XP
1,438
Country
Norway
GHBAimen said:
Do we know anything about the .T64-files in the WAD files, which usually are to be in the same place as the game/rom? 0...05.app have them .T64-files!

EDIT: I imagine that .T64-file is a patch for the game. Or texture change. Is it possible to change/look at these files?
I can't find that file. :/
Is it in WiiWare or VC?(only checked vc)
 

damysteryman

I am too busy IRL these days...
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,223
Trophies
1
XP
1,026
Country
Antarctica
T64 files are usually found in the 00000005.app file from an unpacked N64 vc wad.

I too am interested in the .T64 file format. I hope you can learn how to edit them, then teach us...
 
D

Deleted member 180466

Guest
damysteryman said:
T64 files are usually found in the 00000005.app file from an unpacked N64 vc wad.

I too am interested in the .T64 file format. I hope you can learn how to edit them, then teach us...

I know that you can delete them .T64 files and the game works. But the change is that the .WAD file using the original textures of the game/rom, not .T64 files. An example is The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time!
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wonder if that was the point of game streaming
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    But it's a dead end
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @Psionic Roshambo, people who cant download it can still play the game
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    If your internet speeds are fast enough. Streaming 4k takes alot. I used to only have 20mb sec, and 4k struggled. Now I have 300mb sec and 4k plays fine.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, i only have like 1 or 2 mb sec
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Did you feed the hamster in your internet router? It prob died and is running slow now.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, why did you start saying my pc has a hamster in the first place?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Its actua!ly just a old joke, meaning its slow. Was just kidding around with you.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I bet @AncientBoi has some hamsters hidden somewhere tho....
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think Game streaming should work like this.... Local Hardware able the run the game fine, game engine and common assets stored locally, all FMV and music and textures could be streaming
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Some temporary storage
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also @BigOnYa im making some progress on my gdevelop project, implemented various mechanics
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    They went all in on streaming, should have been more of a hybrid approach
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or free government supplied high speed internet be nice also. Like Obama care. Xdqwerty that's cool, its time consuming but rewarding once done or playable, to see what you've made from scratch. Animations take forever, but worth it.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, although the bullets are a bit buggy
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Not to mention this would be a massive pain to pirate
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa,
    and the visual aspect of the game is quite crude (the sprite that looks best is that of the protagonist just because he is a stickman with sunglasses)
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    There is a bullets behaviour you assign to your character, that makes the code easier, under "behaviours"
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i meant that when the character is pointing to the right, the bullets spawn where they should, but when he is on the right, they move to the right but the spawn point is incorrect
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Itch.io has lots of free assets also. Under the bullets behavior tab, there is a "rotate bullets" option, can try that. Or in the code can try
    - fire bullet Player.X(PlayerDirection)
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    im taking a break for today anyway
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    YEa gotta after a while, looking at code for long periods will bug your eyes.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That's cool tho, I'm proud of you going back to it, not giving up. It is difficult at first to learn, but fun once you get the hang of it. I think I've watched every tutorial video there is, but I still struggle sometimes to get stuff to work right. But gotta keep trying dif things, and eventually you will get it right.
    +1
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: That's cool tho, I'm proud of you going back to it, not giving up. It is difficult at first to... +1