Tutorial  Updated

How to make Pokémon Shaders

Hi! @Demothene gave me the idea to open this thread to help others to make shaders for Pokémon similar to the original games.

This thread will focus on discussions about POKÉMON SHADERS, so anyone can post ideas, nodes and ask about shaders. We usually work in Unity Engine, but once you have the idea, you can make the shaders and materials in any engine.

It is in Nintendo Switch threads because we will try to replicate all the needed Let's Go and Sword and Shield shaders.

I will be updating the post while nice things appear here.

IMPORTANT: Shaders nor models will be shared. You will have to make them (and export them) yourself. Here we just share the logic of how to do them, or even the specific nodes you would need to use in Shader Graph / Amplify Shader Editor.


POKÉMON LETS GO:

Pallet Town Field Floor (By FabDelb):
In this case, the Pallet Town floor is made by blending textures with a function.
In a first pass, the lighting is calculated based on directional light + cloud texture. Then, use this function and add it to the previous vertex color calculated in the first pass.

9A7648AB-EF42-4C5C-986F-B6953ED4960F.png

Approx. result:

AC05AF44-CB8E-4A5E-BE84-234B4B6F8FDA.jpeg


How can be accomplished in Unity with Shader Amplify Editor:

Main Shader:

unknown.png


Blending function:

unknown (1).png

POKÉMON SHADERS:

Fire Pokémon Shaders - Blender (By Wiimonkey2):

Fire in all the 3D pokémon games is accomplished with opacity masks and blending albedos.
You can easily follow this tutorial in Blender:



I need ripping help:

I made other useful tutorials that you may need:

- Export Pokémon from 3DS
- Export Let's Go Trainers and rig them with mixamo


Can you show me a final result:

Finally you can get something like this:

gx0Xj7W.png


How do you know how shaders work?

You can take a look to the original shader code following this tutorial: https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutoria...hader-code-from-nintendo-switch-games.546522/

Discord?

I just made a discord: Link

Credits:


- @Demothene
- FabDelb
- Random Talking Bush
- Me <3
 
Last edited by Manurocker95,

catlover007

Developer
Developer
Joined
Oct 23, 2015
Messages
722
Trophies
1
XP
4,016
Country
Germany
do you have any idea how the outlines in the 3ds titles are accomplished? I've been wondering about that for a long time. I know from a citra progress report that they're somehow repurposing the stencil/depth buffer as a color buffer. The effect has to be done completely on gpu with fixed function hw, otherwise the outline wouldn't scale with the upscaled rendering in citra.
I already analysing a frame from citra in renderdoc, but it crashed :(
 

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,512
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,814
Country
Spain
do you have any idea how the outlines in the 3ds titles are accomplished? I've been wondering about that for a long time. I know from a citra progress report that they're somehow repurposing the stencil/depth buffer as a color buffer. The effect has to be done completely on gpu with fixed function hw, otherwise the outline wouldn't scale with the upscaled rendering in citra.
I already analysing a frame from citra in renderdoc, but it crashed :(

Hmm, no idea, but it really looks like aregular outline shader with GPU instancing and a few tweaks


screenshot_compare.png
 
Last edited by Manurocker95,

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,512
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,814
Country
Spain
too bad. The thing is that the 3ds has no shaders, but it's far too accurate and precise to be just classic, scale model a bit and flip normals.
how is it possible to render stuff without shaders? Hmm, I will ask on discord if anyone knows about this
 
Last edited by Manurocker95,

catlover007

Developer
Developer
Joined
Oct 23, 2015
Messages
722
Trophies
1
XP
4,016
Country
Germany
how is it possible to render stuff without shaders? Hmm, I will ask on discord if anyone knows about this
the way it's done during the old days :)

Before graphic hardware was programmable during multiple stages (it's geometry, vertex, tesselation and fragment these days), a fixed set of operations are performed with your draw data (that's why it's called fixed pipeline). So for example, you configure a matrix in before hand, which is used to transform the vertices etc. You could setup multiple lights, the formula of which was of course build into hw, but you could choose material properties, maybe even one of a few lighting algorithms.

The pica200 is a bit "the last of it's kind". While it's vertex and fragment stage are programmable, it's fragment stage is not, to reduce chip size, thus reducing price and energy consumption. But instead of those old gpu which had maybe phong lighting or so, it has a ton of, state of the art would be exegerated, but modern features, like fresnel effect, toon lighting with a configurable lookup table, shadow mapping, just hardwired.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Coto

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,512
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,814
Country
Spain
@catlover007 hmmm, I tried to make an outline shader with fresnel, but it seems to be a lot worse (with even more cost) than scaling one. I would still go with regular shader or... maybe you are right and they store mon stencil buffer and make a small displacement. In a second pass, render the regular model.


Edit: btw, found this. One of them is made with fresnel and other with scaling
 
Last edited by Manurocker95,

momin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2008
Messages
129
Trophies
0
XP
632
Country
Wonderful post!! Muchas thanks :)

Let me dare to ask, what about the new Zelda Awakening Switch remake which looks sooooo extremely cute and beautiful? Besides the tilt shift, is there any shader magic to get this clay/diorama look?
 

Manurocker95

Game Developer & Pokémon Master
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
1,512
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Madrid
Website
manuelrodriguezmatesanz.com
XP
2,814
Country
Spain
Wonderful post!! Muchas thanks :)

Let me dare to ask, what about the new Zelda Awakening Switch remake which looks sooooo extremely cute and beautiful? Besides the tilt shift, is there any shader magic to get this clay/diorama look?

The game looks like that because it has A LOT of post processing. They did a great plastic shader tho
 

Coto

-
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
2,979
Trophies
2
XP
2,565
Country
Chile
the way it's done during the old days :)

Before graphic hardware was programmable during multiple stages (it's geometry, vertex, tesselation and fragment these days), a fixed set of operations are performed with your draw data (that's why it's called fixed pipeline). So for example, you configure a matrix in before hand, which is used to transform the vertices etc. You could setup multiple lights, the formula of which was of course build into hw, but you could choose material properties, maybe even one of a few lighting algorithms.

The pica200 is a bit "the last of it's kind". While it's vertex and fragment stage are programmable, it's fragment stage is not, to reduce chip size, thus reducing price and energy consumption. But instead of those old gpu which had maybe phong lighting or so, it has a ton of, state of the art would be exegerated, but modern features, like fresnel effect, toon lighting with a configurable lookup table, shadow mapping, just hardwired.

You really speak like an open source graphics hardware/driver developer.

edit: that or a coder from the SGI N64 Rasterizer days. ;-)
 
Last edited by Coto,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I mean for 1st party routers iirc linksys use to support it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhhh that I have no idea
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pretty cool though if so
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Or from what ive heard ways to set custom imgs for 1st party routers so locked down now days
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    OPNsense VM and specs and specs of system it's running on. https://imgur.com/a/S9wgGUD
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I've turned more features on in OPNsense lately and it's getting kind of high on RAM usage, I see. Probably bump that up to 4GB soon
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I wanna make a 8core router with support for 20gbps doesn't even sound that silly lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I only have 1 gig internet but internally I have 10 gig connectivity for everything on my lan lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    fiber connection from my desktop PC back to my core network switch
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    2 port HPE SFP+ PCIE NIC in my desktop and all of my servers
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    silly shit
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    eventually this desktop is going to act as a server too, just for the hell of it. Because this PC is WAY fucking overkill for how little I use it.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And once I do that, my desktop OS that I interact with is just going to be a virtual machine and use GPU passthrough to connect everything
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Send it to me ffs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    No because it's my desktop lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The most use this PC is getting right now is 979 Chrome tabs open right now
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    This is my desktop there are many like it but it is mine alone
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Enabled PPPoE on router now no wifi connection lul
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    Anyone knows
    where is Juan?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Taken by the feet police
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    Horny jail?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It was a nationwide vote
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That does look good
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: That does look good